My dad died when I was 21. The disease that took his life was called Creutzfeldt-jakob disease (CJD). It is extremely rare incurable, and fast and I found my self stuck in a state of shock, and thinking about the what had been and what should’ve been but never would be. I couldn’t believe that my dad was the one who had died, it didn’t feel real. It couldn’t be real, he was my dad. But it was, and I stood at his visitation being hugged by crying strangers who I knew my dad hadn’t seen in years as they told me how much they loved him. I knew it was a typical thing when people died, for people to show up from the past, but I cringed every time they touched me while sobbing on my shoulder, because I knew they could never love him as much as I did. Or do. Talking about your father in past tense is just something you never want to do. Losing my dad was and still is the hardest thing I’ve ever been through. And I searched and searched for answers on how to handle it, or if I was handling it right, but no one talks about losing your dad when your 21, because you’re not supposed too. So here’s what I’ve learned so far.

 

It’s a rollercoaster. I know growing up; my worst fear was my parents dying. I thought I would cry all the time, and not be able to function in every day life. But once it happens, you’ll realize it’s not like that at all. There are days I don’t want to get out of bed, and I’ll sit and look at pictures of us while crying to the saddest songs imaginable. There are days where I am happy and smile at the memory of my dad rocking out to Hannah Montana, and there are days when I forget that my dad died at all. It’s not a perfectly laid out path. It doesn’t make sense to anyone, and most of the time it won’t make sense to you, but it doesn’t have too. It’s confusing, and I don’t know if I’ll ever understand how I can feel such an array of emotions in such a short amount of time, but don’t fight them. There’s no right or wrong way to do this. A lot of the time, I find myself asking, can I be happy? Is it okay that I’m laughing? My dad just died, shouldn’t I be heartbroken? But I’m learning it’s okay, be happy, laugh with your friends. My father loved to make me happy, and I know that he’d want me smiling now. I know he wouldn’t want me to put my world on hold; I have to much to do in his memory.

 

Speaking of putting my world on hold, Stephen Chobosky was right, life doesn’t stop for anybody. When my dad died, I really thought the world stopped. He was my hero, my best friend, and everything I wanted to be, and all of the sudden that was gone. The first few days, it did stop. I avoided my friends and family, stopped writing, didn’t get out of bed, and didn’t think about school or the other obligations school held for me. But I realized I couldn’t do this forever and four days after my dad died, I packed up my things and went back to school, because I knew he would want me too. My dad was always excited I was at such a great university playing the game he and I both loved. He’d call me everyday just to talk about what I had learned and how practice went and he was always so genuinely excited that I got excited too. He loved who I was becoming, so I have to become her, and to do that, I have to finish what I started. I know his pride in me didn’t die with him, so I have to keep that going everyday, no matter how hard it is to get out of bed that morning.

 

But while I know the world doesn’t stop, you have to allow yourself to feel the pain that his loss brings. Embrace it. Don’t run away. Being a 21 year old college student, I feel a constant need to be tough. Don’t cry, be strong for your family. But the truth is, when your dad dies, you feel like a five year old lost in a grocery store. And as hard as I tried to fight it, I lost every time. I still try to fight it at times, but allowing myself to feel the loss is something I owe to my beloved father and myself. I’m not saying that feeling this pain is easy, it’s anything but easy, but loss is unavoidable, and if you don’t deal with it now, it’ll eventually catch up with you.

 

While you allow yourself to feel this pain though, here’s a simple warning, there is nothing anyone can say to fix it. I reached out to my closest friends, hoping they had an answer, but it seemed like everyone said the same thing. “I’m sorry, he loved you, there is a reason and plan for what is happening.” I kept hoping someone would find the perfect thing that stopped the hurting, but it’s not fair to expect that from people no matter how much they love you. As much as I wish that words could bring my dad back, they can’t but your friends and family are there for you nonetheless, even if it is just to listen and cry with you.

 

While we’re on the subject of words, a reason or a plan doesn’t help this process. And it never will, but you’ll hear about it. This is the portion that many will disagree, but I don’t want to hear that there’s a reason or a plan for my father’s death, at least not at this point. It doesn’t make it easier that he passed away, or soften the pain I feel. The way he died was unfair and unbelievable. Don’t let anyone steal your grief; don’t let anyone numb your sadness with a reason or a plan. Loss hurts; life hurts, and no amount of reasons or plans can fix it.

 

I believe the hardest part for me though, is searching for a reason why. I searched, and still search for an answer to why it had to be my dad that died. But I’m learning (slowly) that there’s not one for me to find. Death has no explanation, death does not care that my father was extremely loved, death does not care that his daughter needs him, death does not care he had served his country for years, death does not care that he didn’t deserve this. Death does not need a reason, and while I wish I could find one, it’s a waste of time.

 

And if that isn’t the hardest part, the guilt is. I was a good daughter. I spent time with my father, called him all the time, and tried to be the daughter he deserved. But sometimes the guilt still eats away at me. I went to school 10 hours away, and while that made him proud, I sometimes feel as if I should have went closer. The past four years, I didn’t spend as much time with him as I wish I could’ve now that he is gone. I should’ve stayed home during the summers. I should’ve practiced when he asked. I should’ve came home earlier before the disease took away his voice. I should’ve done a lot different. But I can’t think about that, but I always do. When this happens, I remind myself he wouldn’t want this. I remind myself how he used to talk about how lucky he was to have me as a daughter. I think about how I would stay at home on Friday night, just to watch something on HGTV or history channel with him. There’s always going to be something you wish you could’ve done differently, but don’t let that overshadow all the things you did right.

 

Losing a parent at any age isn’t easy, but no one talks about losing a parent at 21. While losing a parent is going to hurt no matter how old you are, there is something special about losing them when you’re at this age. While many older people tried to explain to me their process of losing their dad, I couldn’t help but think “it just isn’t the same,” and it’s not. My dad will never walk me down the aisle, meet his grandchildren, or help me repair something on the house that I own. He won’t be there when I graduate from college, teach at my first school, or hug me when I turn 22. And it’s hard to accept that. But I know he’s watching out for me, smiling every time I do something great, laughing every time I curse him for something he once did, and reaching out for me every time I cry. Losing a parent at 21 isn’t like losing a parent at 52 or even 35. But every encouraging word helps.

 

I miss my dad more than anything. There’s not a day that goes by that I don’t find myself wishing I could call him and tell him about what has happened in my day. I miss his voice, his good morning texts, and his advice when I was in a hard spot, I miss everything. But at 21 years old, I have so much in front of me. I have so much to do, and so many things I can achieve, and that excites me. I wish I could tell you it gets easier, but after it now being a month, absolutely nothing about this has gotten easier, but I am slowly figuring out how to deal with his loss. I know I will never heal, I know it will never be the same, but I know I will get stronger, because my dad raised me to be strong, which I am so thankful for. If you’re reading this, and your dad is still in your life, call him. Tell him you love him, drive home and have dinner with him, let him know he’s important. Trust me when I say, you do not have the slightest clue what could happen at any given moment.

 

 

Dad, I wish you were here, I wish I didn’t have to write something like this, but thank you for being the best dad imaginable. I was lucky to have you for 21 years. This is only the beginning of my journey without you here, but I promise I’m going to make you proud. I am so thankful I am your daughter. I love you. Forever.

Screen Shot 2015-12-02 at 7.23.23 PM

17 thoughts on “Losing your dad at 21

  1. Beautiful words…. I lost my Dad when I was 18….. He was 38. He died from brain cancer 1 year and 13 days after his diagnosis. He was a vibrant, healthy wonderful Dad….. I miss him everyday. The pain gets easier but never goes away…. That’s love. Hugs, prayers and love to you sweetie.

    Like

  2. B-Nation. That was beautifully written. Your Pops was a Special Man. He gave more than he ever took. We spoke of His love for you while hanging out in left field during Terps games. He will be truly missed by all who knew Him but nowhere near as much as by You. Keep your memories alive every day in your thoughts and deeds. He will remain alive in our minds forever.

    Like

  3. I’ve prayed and will continue to pray for you and your family. You nailed every emotion that’s possible and brought me to tears, but proud tears of you and hurtful tears for you. You will know all the answers one day. One thing for sure I can promise you Brenna, he will never be able to come back to you, but you have the power to make sure you will go to him some day… Trust the Lord and you will not only have your answers, but your dad will be the ones giving them to you. Your dad served his purpose and has pass his wonderful traits on to you… Until that day arrives, carry on strong girl, he still loves you.

    Like

  4. I also lost my dad at a young age. I was 22. He was 42 and died from a massive heart attack. I feel all of the things you feel. Not a day goes by that I don’t think of him at one point or another during the day. When I miss him most, I go drive his truck. I feel him most there. Sometimes I cry my eyes out, others I find myself giggling uncontrollably at one of his sayings, or smiling at some of our fondest memories. Losing your dad is one of the hardest things you will ever go through in life. For now, keep your chin up. Cry when you feel like it. Sing a long to one of his favorite songs. But always remember he loved you, and you did him proud, and you have a very special guardian angel looking out for you.

    Like

  5. I REMEMBER YOU AS A BABY GIRL WE WENT TO CHURCH WITH YOU AT NEW FRIENDSHIP,I CAN FEEL YOUR PAIN,DON’T LET ANYONE TELL YOU TO GET OVER IT ,YOU DON’T.I LOST MY HUSBAND CHARLES,I LOST MY DAUGHTER CINDY 1 YEAR AGO.I PRAY DAILY FOR PEACE,I TRY TO THINK OF HAPPIER TIMES,THERE WERE MANY,BUT STILL I CRY WHEN I THINK OF GOOD OR BAD TIMES.YOU HAD A GREAT DAD AND MOM .MY HUSBAND LOVED YOUR DAD ,THEY WERE ALWAYS TALKING ABOUT BUILDING A STEEPLE FOR THE CHURCH ,YOUR DAD WAS DEPLOYED,CHARLES PASSED AWAY.I WILL BE PRAYING FOR YOU AND DONNA.I CAN’T SAY IT WILL BE BETTER SOON.THINK OF THE GOOD DAYS YOU HAVE HAD.GOD BLESS.

    Like

  6. I lost my dad a little over a year ago to CJD. I was 20 and he was 45 when he passed. Everything you wrote, I felt and still feel every day. I lost my grandma a little over a year before I lost my dad and neither death was easy to process, but especially my dad’s. Losing my dad was and still is hard each and every day. Not a day goes by without thinking about him. I miss his voice and his hugs. I miss everything about him. I know exactly what you are going through and it isn’t easy one bit. I also thought and still think about how he won’t physically be there at my college graduation, walking me down the aisle, or being a grandfather. He would have been an amazing grandfather, but I try not to think about that too much since I won’t be able to see that happen and he won’t be able to experience it. Try not to think about all of the sad things, which I know is extremely hard to do especially this early after a death. Try to remember how he was before he was sick and all the good times you two cherished. That’s what makes me happy and of course brings happy/sad tears to my eyes. I will pray for you and your family.

    Like

  7. Brenna – voicing your pain and heartache will help you cope. I’m so proud of you because loss, any loss is incredibly difficult to deal with. Age doesn’t matter either. Lost my dad before I was three, first husband at 27, mom in 2001. Time softens the pain but the loss remains. You’re correct. No one else understands your perspective because it is uniquely yours. Friends and family are attempting to reach out to you to help you through yours because they care and love you and your family. Your father left a wonderful legacy. You don’t have to live up to it today. Take it one day at a time. Sending love and prayers to you.

    Like

  8. Hi Brenna! You don’t know me, but our sweet mutual friend Courtney Ross shared this on Facebook and I was drawn to it immediately. My dad committed suicide last year. He was my best friend, my biggest cheerleader, and my most wise counselor. Depression is an evil, dark thing that takes over people we love and tells them to do things we hate. You mentioned several things your dad won’t get to be part of now, and I feel that with you. I got married a few months ago, and my dad didn’t walk me down the isle or conduct my ceremony (he was a pastor) — that’s pretty hard. Anyway, you hit the nail on the head in these words. No one gets it when you’re 21 (or 24 in my case) and you lose your dad. Just wanted to say thanks for posting this, and how strangely comforting it is to know someone else is feeling the same things. Praying for peace and strength for you in those darkest, hardest days.

    Like

  9. Dear Brenna: Your words are so wise for one so young. I wish I was on the East Coast so I could give you a hug any time you need it. I know one thing for sure, your Dad is already proud of you, more than you could ever know. With love and prayers.

    Like

  10. In searching for answers or a reason… I don’t think there’s one to be found. He was a great man who was cut short by a terrible disease. As a believer, your good news can be found in John 14:3. But even that comfrot isn’t enough and it doesn’t have to be. Your grieve is natural and with good reason. I spent a lot of time with him and I know from our talks that your mom and you were his most prized possessions. The pride he had in your accomplishments was easy to see. I have a great amount of respect for your Dad and I’m very thankful to have known him as a friend.

    Like

  11. Brenna, I remember you as a small infant. Your daddy was so proud if you. Watching you grow into a beautiful young lady who loves God and love her daddy and mother. No words can express how well you have written you journey so far. We will be praying for you tg hat GOD will continue to lead and guide you. Much love .

    Like

  12. Brenna, this is a beautiful piece that you’ve written. You and your family have been in my prayers daily. Keep following your journey.

    Like

  13. Brenna beautifully written. I know what it is like to lose someone so unexpectedly. I have been searching for 15 years as to why my son, Brad, was taken from me at 23 years old when life was just beginning as it is for you. I understand your grief and how some people will try to compare their grief to yours. No one’s grief compares to yours. I had someone compare my loss of Brad to losing their mother of 85 years old. I read a book after Brad died titled “When There No Words”. I think a lot of people should read that book and just saying nothing and know that giving a hug is better than what comes out of their mouth. There is no comparison or understanding of why someone as young as your dad or my son would be taken from this world. Just try to hold on to your Joy and don’t let anyone steal your Joy from you. My advice is to avoid negative people who leave you feeling blue. Hold on to your memories, the fun times, and funny stories, as that is what has helped me keep Brad alive in my heart and will help you too.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Brenna, Beautifully written. I, like you, have been searching for 15 years as to why my son, Brad, was taken from me at such a young age of 23 years old and their are no answers. As you mentioned, I had people come up to me and try to compare my grief to theirs. I had someone compare my loss to the loss of their 85year old mother and the grief they experienced. There is no comparison. I read a book, “When There Are No Words”. I think every one should read that book and think about the words that come out of their mouths and realize that just a hug would be more comforting than what they say. There are no words to explain why someone as young as your dad should be taken from you. My advice to you and your mom are to hold on to your Joy and don’t let anyone steal your Joy from you. Avoid negative people who don’t lift your spirits and bring you down. Hold on to the fun times and funny stories as it is those things that will help you keep him alive in your heart. You and your Mom will be in my thoughts and prayers during this holiday season.

    Like

  15. Happened to find you on twitter and made my way this this. Your words are beautiful and really touched me. My husband lost his mom 2 years ago (2 months before we got married) and his best friend lost his dad to CJD in his 20’s as well. I realize thoughts and prayers only go so far to someone who has suffered a loss like you have, but please know that you have mine. Your and your momma’s strength is so admirable and hard fought – I know you both honor him with your courage. I was fortunate enough to know your dad for a short while and when I think of him will always envision him leaning against a fence with a cup of coffee watching you throw. Keep making him proud!

    Like

  16. I lost my niece in 2014 to CJD. She was only 30 and had a 1 year old baby. We really never talk about CJD in our family but now that 2 years have pasted we start to think of it more. So rare it really starts to make you made as time goes on. She only lived about 40 days. Do you mind sharing what happened with your dad? PS – we’re from MD and my niece was a Terapin too. 🐢

    Like

Leave a comment